Monday, 26 February 2018

Words in papers, words in books, words on TV, words for crooks

"I must start blogging again," I mutter to myself at semi-regular intervals, last having done so in 2015 while hosting the comp.sys.sinclair Crap Games Competition (and that's another thing I need to do, get that back online properly). And then I think of something, usually music, to blog about, like Now 10 or Jeff Young's Big Beat or The Man Ezeke's 1989 radio show on BBC Bedfordshire, and it's not enough so I tweet about it instead, or it's too much and I half write something and get distracted and oh look a kitten, and I wander off and think "Oh I'll do it later" and forget all about it for a year. So that's why I haven't started blogging again, until now.

Yesterday afternoon, bored and ever so slightly drunk, waiting for #My80s to start, I decided to make a quick mix of 80s tunes. So quick that I didn't even listen all the way through properly before uploading, just worked on the transitions between tunes, so for all I know there could be a Bulgarian nose-flute solo halfway through Walk Out To Winter, inserted by iTunes during the three weeks I had it on a previous laptop in 2007 before realising the awful Windows version is just an attempt by Apple to make everyone go out and buy Macs instead.

Tracklisting, you say? Pah, don't you lot like surprises? Oh well. All tracks are taken from the 12"/80s album, except Hard Times/Love Action by the Human League, which is on 12"/80s/Electro Pop.

1. Stephen "Tin Tin" Duffy - Kiss Me (Mixe Plural)
2. Human League - Love Action (Instrumental)
3. Human League - Hard Times/Love Action (12" Version)
4. Tom Tom Club - Wordy Rappinghood (12" Version)
5. Talk Talk - It's My Life (US 12" Mix)
6. Lloyd Cole & The Commotions - My Bag (Dancing Remix)
7. The Jam - Precious (Extended Version)
8. Japan - Quiet Life (Extended Version)
9. Bauhaus - She's In Parties (12" Version)
10. Aztec Camera - Walk Out To Winter (Long Version)
11. Echo & The Bunnymen - Never Stop (Discothéque)

Those of you who've heard my other stuff will notice this is far more like a conventional DJ mix than usual. This is deliberate. I spend far too much time scratching my head thinking about doing stuff, and not enough time doing the stuff I'm thinking about, so it feels good to actually get something out there for once, even if I'm not 100% happy with some of the mixing. I wanted to make the whole mix up to an hour, but I like that it ends with the word "Stop".